Nominations Open for 2019 Excellence in Safety Award

In recognition of innovation, dedication and best practices, we are now accepting nominations for the ninth annual Excellence in Safety Award. Recognizing the outstanding achievements of safety professionals each year, the Excellence in Safety Award honors those who educate, support, and take action to improve safety on and off the worksite.

PRECO safety award

Since its inception, the Excellence in Safety Award has recognized and honored safety professionals and leaders who have contributed significantly to the development of best practices and successful safety programs across the heavy-duty industries. 

Past recipients, Fernando Figueroa, Michal Posz, and dual 2016 Excellence in Safety Award recipients SWANA’s David Biderman and the City of Oxnard Environmental Resources Division’s George Van Hemert, represent the difference effective safety strategies make within the heavy-duty industries.

Fernando Figueroa, the 2018 Excellence in Safety Award recipient, has built his career on keeping employees safe, well trained, and knowledgeable to reduce injuries and illnesses in the workplace. In honoring those who educate and take action to improve safety on and off the worksite, PRECO strives to support and bolster the significant difference safety leaders like Figueroa make across the globe.

About the Excellence in Safety Award

As a leader in safety, we established the Excellence in Safety Award to honor safety professionals for their initiative and commitment to the advancement of safety within their community, business or industry. The Excellence in Safety Award honors those with exceptional proofs of innovation, leadership, vision, and best practices in safety within the heavy-duty industries.

We invite you to submit your nominations for safety leaders who fit the award criteria here. 

Award Criteria

Initiative: The nominee demonstrates leadership, initiates open discussions, introduces programs, and gives voice to safety concerns within the industry, community, or business.

Involvement: The nominee takes an active role in industry associations, community safety programs, and/or business/legislative policy changes to advance safety.

Innovative: The nominee is creative and imaginative; introduces new ideas and suggestions to move safety into the forefront of the community, legislature, business or industry they serve.

This award is intended to recognize an individual that demonstrates excellence in advancing best safety practices throughout the community, business or industry by continuously going above and beyond to integrate, innovate and educate others to inspire change and improve safety.

The deadline to nominate a candidate is February 28, 2020.

For additional information, please contact Reyna Clow at